How It Works
The formula for cost per thousand (CPM) is:
CPM = (Cost of 1 Unit of a Media Program) / (Size of Media Program's Audience) x 1,000
A media program unit can be one print ad, one commercial, or one of any sort of advertising medium. The media audience may include households, readers, users, or members of a demographic category.
Let's assume Company XYZ is considering purchasing a one-page print advertisement in the next issue of a national magazine for $5,000. The issue is expected to reach 10,000 readers. Using the formula above, we can calculate that Company XYZ's CPM would be:
CPM = ($5,000) / (10,000) x 1,000 = $500
This means that Company XYZ would effectively be paying $500 to advertise to 1,000 people (CPM = $500).